All the laboratories in RGCB work with nucleic acids and carry out recombinant DNA experiments on hazardous and non-hazardous microorganisms as well as higher eukaryotic organisms. As mandated in the Rules 1989 of Environment (Protection) Act 1986, RGCB has constituted an institutional biosafety committee (BT/BS/17/37/2001-PID) as per the guidelines of DBT, Government of India, to facilitate the implementation of biosafety procedures to ensure safety from the use of Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs) and products thereof to the users as well as to the environment.

RGCB IBSC composition


Professor. M Radhakrishna Pillai
Director, RGCB

DBT Nominee

Dr. P Ajitkumar
Department of Microbiology and Cell Biology
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Medical Expert

Dr. K.E Elizabeth
Sree Mookambika Institute of Medical Sciences, Kanyakumari


Dr. Anoop Kumar Thekkuveetil, Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Technology, Trivandrum
Dr. M.G Purushothama, Indus Seeds, Bangalore
Dr. E.V Soniya, RGCB
Dr. R.V Omkumar, RGCB
Dr. Moinak Banerjee, RGCB
Dr. E Sreekumar, RGCB

Member Secretary

Dr. R Ajay Kumar, RGCB

Relavant Forms


Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology (RGCB),
Thycaud Post, Poojappura,
Thiruvananthapuram - 695 014, Kerala, India
+91-471-2529400 | 2347975 | 2348753