As per the "Breeding of and Experiments on Animals (Control and Supervision) Rules, 1998" RGCB has formed an Institutional Animal Ethics Committee for control and supervision of experiments on animals performed in the Institute. The IAEC is registered with the CPCSEA (Reg. No. 326/GO/ReBiBt/S/2001/CPCSEA) and its primary duty is to review and approve all types of research proposals involving small animal experimentation before the start of the study. The Committee also monitors research throughout the study and after completion of the study through periodic reports besides regular visits to the research faculty animal house and laboratories where the experiments are conducted. It also ensures compliance with all regulatory requirements, rules, guidelines and laws related to animal experiments. IAEC includes eight members of which three are nominated by CPCSEA and remaining five members by the institute. The chairperson and member secretary of the committee are nominated by the institute from the existing members. The term of appointment of the committee is for a period of 3 years. The committee meets at regular intervals to review new proposals, requests and existing policies. The committee also regularly monitors the procedures and practices related to animal experiments to ensure that animal welfare and ethics are strictly followed at every point of research.


G. S. Vinod Kumar, PhD
Scientist Incharge of Animal House Facility
Scientist F, RGCB

Member Secretary

Tessy Thomas Maliekal, PhD
Scientist from different biological discipline,
Scientist E II, RGCB

Internal Members

Rajesh Chandramohandas, PhD
Biological Scientist,
Scientist E-II, RGCB

John Bernet Johnson, PhD
Scientist from different discipline,
Scientist E II, RGCB

Dr. Archana. S
Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology

External Members

Dr. Sachin J. Shenoy
Main Nominee
Biomedical Technology Wing
Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute of Medical Science
Poojapura, Thiruvananthapuram 695012, Kerala

Dr. Sanjay. D
Link Nominee
Investigation Officer
State Institute for Animal Diseases Pacha(PO), Palode,
Thiruvananthapuram - 695562

Dr A.S. William Arputha Sundar
Scientist from outside the institute
Professor, The Dale View College of Pharmacy and Research Centre
Punalal, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala.

Dr. J. Jaslin Edward
Socially Aware Nominee
Principal, Sun College of Pharmacy & Research Centre
Vellamadi Junction, Ammandi Vilai P.O, Kanyakumari District - 629204, Tamil Nadu


Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology (RGCB),
Thycaud Post, Poojappura,
Thiruvananthapuram - 695 014, Kerala, India
+91-471-2529400 | 2347975 | 2348753

My Gov Prime Ministers National Relife Fund India Gov Make In India Make In India Data gov in

Last Updated on: July 12, 2024
CERT-In Certified Website