Research Programs

res_pics/Tessy Thomas Maliekal/program 1.jpg

TIF1γ as a regulator of self-renewal in oral cancer cells

res_pics/Tessy Thomas Maliekal/Program 2.jpg

Eph/Ephrin signaling regulating oral cancer stem cells

res_pics/Tessy Thomas Maliekal/Program 3.jpg

A host defense peptide modulating IL6 pathway

res_pics/Tessy Thomas Maliekal/Program 4.jpg

Peptides for detection

res_pics/Tessy Thomas Maliekal/Program 5.jpg

Animal Models to study oral cancer progression

Current Research Grants

  • 2025 2022

    Differential Inhibition of Visfatin-PAK4 as a Novel Strategy in Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma for Therapeutic Purpose (Co-PI).
    Indian Council of Medical Research

  • 2024 2021

    Exploration of the role of fodrin, a protein required in functional microtubule reorganization, in cancer and apoptosis (Co-PI).
    Indian Council of Medical Research

  • 2022 2018

    Virtual National Oral Cancer Institute Development of Animal Model Systems to study oral cancer progression
    Department of Biotechnology [DBT]

Previous/ Completed Research Grants

    1. Evaluation of the role of TIF1γ in the regulation of self-renewal ability of OSCC stem cells
      Department of Science & Technology [DST] 2016-2019

    2. Characterizing the signaling network that sustains oral cancer stem cells for developing a targeted therapy
      Department of Science and Technology 2011-2014

    3. Identifying surface marker signature of oral cancer stem cells to develop a prognosis marker for oral squamous cell carcinoma using peptide-based CSC detection
      Department of Biotechnology 2011-2014


  • Collaborations

    1. Dr. Nebu Abraham George, Assistant Professor, Surgical Oncology, RCC, Thiruvananthapuram.

  • As a part of a multicentric project, VNOCI

    1. Prof. Tapas K Kundu, Professor, Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics Unit, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre For Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore

    2. Dr. Annapoorni Rangarajan, Associate Professor, Molecular Reproduction, Development and Genetics, INDIAN INSTITUTE OF SCIENCE, Bangalore

    3. Dr. Birendranath Banerjee, Associate Professor, School of Biotechnology, KIlT School of Bhubaneswar, Orissa

    4. Dr. Debnath Pal, Associate Professor, Computational and Data Sciences, INDIAN INSTITUTE OF SCIENCE, Bangalore,Karnataka

    5. Dr. Subhashini Sadasivam , National Centre For Biological Sciences, Bangalore

    6. Prof. Anupam Chatterjee, Professor, Biotechnology & Bioinformatics, North-Eastern Hill University, Shillong

    7. Prof. Partha Pratim Majumder, Distinguished Professor, Genomics, National Institute of Biomedical Genomics, West Bengal

    8. Prof. Ramaswamy Subramanian, Senior Professor, Technologies for the Advancement of Science (TAS), National Centre For Biological Sciences, Bangalore

    9. Prof. Saumyadipta pyne, Professor, Indian Institute of Public Health, Hyderabad


Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology (RGCB),
Thycaud Post, Poojappura,
Thiruvananthapuram - 695 014, Kerala, India
+91-471-2529400 | 2347975 | 2348753

My Gov Prime Ministers National Relife Fund India Gov Make In India Make In India Data gov in

Last Updated on: May 22, 2024
CERT-In Certified Website